What is SSC-CGL?

SSC-CGL stands for Staff Selection Commission – Combined Graduate Level examination. It is a competitive examination conducted by the Staff Selection Commission of India to recruit candidates for various Group B and Group C posts in various ministries, departments, and organizations of the Government of India.

Who is eligible to appear for SSC-CGL?

To be eligible for SSC-CGL, a candidate must have a bachelor’s degree from a recognized university. The eligibility criteria may vary for different posts, so candidates should carefully check the official notification for specific qualifications and age limits

How can I apply for SSC-CGL?

The application process for SSC-CGL is online. Candidates need to visit the official SSC website, fill out the application form, pay the required fee, and upload necessary documents as per the instructions provided in the notification.

What is the exam pattern for SSC-CGL Tier-I and Tier-II?

Tier-I: It consists of four sections – General Intelligence & Reasoning, General Awareness, Quantitative Aptitude, and English Comprehension. Each section has 25 questions, and the total duration is 60 minutes.

Tier-II: It comprises Paper-I (Quantitative Abilities) and Paper-II (English Language & Comprehension). Both papers consist of 200 questions and are of 2 hours duration.

Is there any negative marking in SSC-CGL?

Yes, there is a negative marking of 0.50 marks for each wrong answer in Tier-I and Tier-II (Paper-I and Paper-II). However, there is no negative marking in Tier-II Paper-III (Statistics).

What is the syllabus for the SSC-CGL examination?

The syllabus includes topics from General Intelligence & Reasoning, General Awareness, Quantitative Aptitude, English Language & Comprehension, and, for certain posts, an additional paper covering subjects like Finance and Accounts, Economics, and Statistics.

How is the final merit list prepared in SSC-CGL?

The final merit list is prepared based on the candidate’s performance in Tier-I, Tier-II, and Tier-III. Tier-IV is qualifying in nature and is necessary for certain posts. The selection is made based on the cumulative score of Tier-I, Tier-II, and Tier-III.

 What are the age relaxation criteria for SSC-CGL?

 Age relaxation is provided to candidates belonging to specific categories such as SC, ST, OBC, PwD, etc. The exact age relaxation varies depending on the category and is mentioned in the official notification.

Where can I find more information about SSC-CGL?

Detailed information, including notification, syllabus, exam dates, and application procedures, can be found on the official SSC website (www.ssc.nic.in). Additionally, candidates can refer to official notifications and previous year’s question papers for better preparation.